Colorado – Cruelty to Animals Law

The Colorado Statute C.R.S. 18-9-202 states that a person commits offenses of animal cruelty if s/he:

  • “Knowingly, recklessly or with criminal negligence overdrives, overloads, overworks, torments animals;
  • deprives of necessary sustenance, unnecessarily or cruelly beats animals;
  • allows an animal to be housed in a manner that results in chronic or repeated serious physical harm,
  • carries or confines in or upon any vehicles in a cruel or reckless manner, or
  • otherwise mistreats or neglects any animal, or causes or procures it to be done, or
  • having the charge or custody of any animal, fails to provide it with proper food, drink, or protection from the weather, consistent with the species, breed, and type of animal involved, or
  • abandons an animal” or “recklessly or with criminal negligence tortures, needlessly mutilates, or needlessly kills an animal.”

A conviction of cruelty to animals is a Class 1 Misdemeanor, with a minimum fine of $500, minimum sentence of six months imprisonment, a maximum fine of $5000 and a maximum sentence of eighteen months imprisonment.


Inside Colorado – Cruelty to Animals Law