Delaware – Cruelty to Animals Law

According to 11 Del. C. § 1325  as a person is guilty of cruelty to animals if they “Intentionally or recklessly subjects an animal to cruel mistreatment, cruel neglect, kills or injures an animal without the owner’s consent, cruelly or unnecessarily kills or injures any animal.”

Cruelty to animals is a Class A Misdemeanor.  The Class A Misdemeanor is punishable with a $1000 fine and possible imprisonment for up to one year.  The punishment may include forfeiture of any and all animals, unless 25 percent or more income is provided from animals, and prohibition of animal ownership for 5 years.  Intentional cruelty is a Class F Felony.  It is punishable with a $5000 fine and possible imprisonment up to 3 years.  The punishment may include forfeiture of any and all animals, unless 25 percent or more income is provided from animals, and prohibition of animal ownership for 15 years.  Farming, hunting, protection of life or property, research and veterinary care are exempted.


Inside Delaware – Cruelty to Animals Law