Florida – Cruelty to Animals Law

According to Fla. Stat. § 828.12, a person commits cruelty to animals if s/he:

  • “overloads, overdrives, torments any animal, or
  •  deprives of necessary sustenance or shelter to it, or
  • unnecessarily mutilates, or kills any animal, or causes the same to be done, or
  • carries any animal in or upon any vehicle, or otherwise, in a cruel or inhumane manner.”

It is a first degree misdemeanor with a fine up to $5000 and/or imprisonment up to one year.  Intentional Animal Cruelty is defined as “an act to any animal which results in the cruel death, or excessive or repeated infliction of unnecessary pain or suffering.”  It is a third degree felony with a fine up to $10,000 and/or imprisonment up to 5 years.  Intentional Cruelty with “knowing and intentional torture or torment of an animal that injures, mutilates, or kills the animal” carries a minimum fine of $2500 and completion of a psychological or anger management treatment program.  Exemptions are made for veterinary care.


Inside Florida – Cruelty to Animals Law