Nebraska – Cruelty to Animals

In Nebraska, abandonment or cruel neglect is a Class I Misdemeanor with a fine up to $1000 and/or imprisonment up to one year.  If the abandonment or cruel neglect results in serious injury or death of the animal, it is a Class IV felony with a fine up to $10,000 and/or imprisonment up to five years.  Cruelty to animals is a Class I Misdemeanor with a fine up to $1000 and/or imprisonment up to one year.  A second or subsequent offense is a Class IV Felony.  If the cruel mistreatment involves “the knowing and intentional torture, repeated beating, or mutilation of the animal” it is a Class IV Felony.  Engagement in any capacity that supports or promotes animal fighting is a Class IV Felony.

 Pursuant to R.R.S. Neb. § 28-1008:

Abandon means “to leave any animal in one’s care, whether as owner or custodian, for any length of time without making effective provision for its food, water, or other care as is reasonably necessary for the animal’s health”;

Cruelly mistreat means knowingly and intentionally kill, maim, disfigure, torture, beat, mutilate, burn, scald, or otherwise inflict harm upon any animal”;

Cruelly neglect means “to fail to provide any animal in one’s care, whether as owner or custodian, with food, water, or other care as is reasonably necessary for the animal’s health”;

Torture means “intentionally subjecting an animal to extreme pain, suffering, or agony”.


Inside Nebraska – Cruelty to Animals