Nevada – Cruelty to Animals Law

According to Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 574.100 a person shall not:

  • Overdrive, overload, torture, cruelly beat or unjustifiably injure, maim, mutilate or kill an animal;
  • Deprive an animal of necessary food or drink, or neglect or refuse to furnish the animal such sustenance or drink;
  • Cause or allow an animal to be overdriven, overloaded, tortured, cruelly beaten or unjustifiably injured, maimed, mutilated or killed and to be deprived of food and drink;
  • Further an act of cruelty to any animal;
  • Abandon an animal.

The first offense is a misdemeanor with a $200 to $1000 fine, imprisonment from two days to six months, and community service of 48 to 120 hours.  The second offense within the immediately preceding seven years is a misdemeanor with $1,000 to $500, imprisonment from 10 days to six months and community service of 100 to 200 hours.  A third or subsequent offense within seven years is a Class C Felony with a fine up to $10,000 and/or imprisonment for one to five years.

However, if injury to or death of an animal occurs accidentally in the normal course of carrying out the activities of a rodeo or livestock show or operating a ranch, it is not an offense.


Inside Nevada – Cruelty to Animals Law